Image

Milks

Accept the irregularity of raw-milk cheeses: Cheese is a living product, constantly evolving and therefore unique. In shape, appearance, texture, flavor and origin, raw-milk cheese is naturally irregular. To understand this, you need to know more about milk, its basic ingredients and its diversity. A cheese that's sometimes "not so good" can be perfect the next time!

Cow's milk, goat's milk, sheep's milk... milk offers a multitude of possibilities. From the pastures to your table, let's decipher the secrets of milk.
Image

The cow


She has a gestation period of 9 months. She will therefore give birth to one calf a year, and her lactation is stretched over 10 months, with a dry period of 2 months. On average, a cow produces 20 to 30 liters of milk per day, which she gives in two milkings. Its feed requirements are 20 to 40 kg of dry forage and 50 to 80 liters of water per day to ensure milk production.


Cows are represented in France by three breeds: with its Dutch origins and famous black and white coat, the Frisonne Pie-noire or otherwise known as the Prim'Holstein. This is the most widespread cow breed and France's leading dairy breeder. Next comes the Normande, recognizable by its large brown and sometimes speckled spots. Then comes the Montbéliarde, distinguished by its all-white head and large mahogany spots.


But other breeds also make up the French herd, such as : Tarine, Salers, Abondance, Tarentaise, Vosgienne, Rouge Flamande and Aubrac.

The goat


Gestation lasts five months, and kids are usually born between January and March. She often gives birth to two kids at the same time, and lactation can last up to 8 months, with a dry period of 4 months. In order to produce 2 to 5 liters of milk per day, she needs 3 kg of dry forage and 8 liters of water for two milkings.

Poitevine, Alpine and Saanen are the three most common goat breeds. But there are many other breeds, such as the Rove in Provence, with its long horns and garrigue-scented milk, or the Corsican, a great lover of transhumance.

The ewe


The gestation period is five months, with lambing often taking place from November to January. Lactation can last from five to seven months, with a more or less equal dry period. The ewe will only offer 0.5 to 1 liter of milk daily. In other words, low production in a short space of time. This explains the rarity of sheep's milk cheeses. A ewe needs 2 to 5 kg of dry fodder and 6 liters of water daily.

For Roquefort, the PDO specifications indicate that the reference seasonal lactation period is between December and July.

Dairy ewes in France come from three breeds: the Basco-Béarnaise and the Manech, either red-headed or black-headed, both of which produce Pyrenean cheeses such as Ardi Gazna or Ossau-Iraty. Then there's the Lacaune ewe, the breed that produces the milk needed to make Roquefort.

Find out more about cheese

Visual Portfolio, Posts & Image Gallery for WordPress

Mieux connaître Les laits

Acceptez l’irrégularité des fromages au lait cru : Le fromage est un produit vivant, en constante évolution et par déduction, un produit unique. De forme, d’aspect, de texture, de saveur, de provenance, un fromage au lait cru est naturellement irrégulier.

Pour le comprendre, il faut avant toute chose mieux connaitre le lait, l’ingrédient de base qui le compose, ses diversités. Un fromage parfois “moins bien”, peut être la fois suivante une perfection !

De vache, de chèvre, de brebis... le lait offre une multitude de possibilités. Des pâturages à votre table, décryptage pour mieux connaitre les secrets du lait.  

Image

La vache : sa gestation est d'une durée de 9 mois. Elle va donc donner naissance à un veau par an et sa lactation est étirée sur 10 mois avec un tarissement de 2 mois. En moyenne, une vache produit de 20 à 30 litres de lait par jour, qu’elle offre en deux traites. Ses besoins en nourriture sont de 20 à 40 kg de fourrage sec et de 50 à 80 litres d’eau par jour afin d’assurer la production de lait.

Les vaches sont représentées en France, par trois races :  avec ses origines hollandaises et sa célèbre robe noire et blanche, la Frisonne Pie-noire ou autrement appelé la Prim’Holstein. C’est la race de vache la plus répandue et la première laitière française. Arrive ensuite la Normande, reconnaissable à ses grandes taches brunes et parfois mouchetés. Puis, la Montbéliarde, qui se distingue avec la tête toute blanche et des grandes tâches acajou. Mais d’autres races composent le cheptel français comme : La Tarine, la Salers, l’Abondance, la Tarentaise, la Vosgienne, la Rouge Flamande ou encore l’Aubrac.

La chèvre : sa gestation dure cinq mois et la mise bas des petits chevreaux à lieu généralement de janvier à mars. Elle donne souvent naissance à deux petits en même temps et sa lactation peut durer jusqu'à 8 mois avec un tarissement de 4 mois. Afin de pouvoir donner de 2 à 5 litres de lait quotidien, ses besoins quotidiens en alimentation sont de 3 kg de fourrage sec et de 8 litres d'eau pour une production en deux traites.

La Poitevine, l’Alpine, et la Saanen sont les trois races de chèvre les plus représentées. Mais il en existe bien d’autres comme la Rove, en Provence avec ses longues cornes et qui donne un lait au parfum de garrigue, ou la Corse grande amatrice de transhumance.   

Image

La brebis : sa gestation est de cinq mois et les mises bas ont souvent lieu de novembre à janvier, quant à sa lactation elle peut durer de cinq à sept mois et donc avec une période de tarissement plus ou moins égale. La brebis va seulement offrir 0,5 à 1 litre de lait quotidiennement. Soit une faible production, dans un court laps de temps. Ce qui explique la rareté des fromages au lait de brebis. Les besoins d’une brebis sont de 2 à 5 kg de fourrage sec et de 6 litres d'eau quotidien. Pour le Roquefort, sachez que le cahier des charges de l’AOP indique une lactation saisonnière de référence est entre décembre et juillet.

Les brebis laitières en France sont issues de trois races : la Basco-Béarnaise et la Manech, à la tête rousse ou à la tête noire, ces deux races produisent notamment les fromages de Pyrénées, Ardi Gazna ou Ossau-Iraty. Et puis, la brebis Lacaune, qui est la race productrice du lait nécessaire à la fabrication du Roquefort.